Beta Technology



Batteries for e-Mobility – Opportunities for Niobium

This year’s Charles Hatchett Award has recognised research work establishing a future role for niobium in developing more efficient battery systems.

The winning paper, authored by an international research team led by The Georgia Institute of Technology in the USA, has explained the unique properties and fast charging behaviour of niobium oxides (T-Nb2O5).

Following the medal presentation at the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining Premier Awards Dinner in London on the 3rd July 2018, Dr Dongchang Chen, presented the winning paper at the 2018 Charles Hatchett seminar. The presentation was made to an invited international audience at the Institute of Engineering and Technology in central London. It explained the experimental and theoretical approach applied by the research team to determine why T-Nb2O5, when applied as a Li ion battery electrode, presents unique behaviour and super fast charge and discharge rates. In his concluding remarks, Dr Chen noted that compared to other battery materials, the remarkable Li ion storage and transport behaviour of T-Nb2O5 is truly unique and presents an opportunity for super fast charge-discharge in batteries for both transport and consumer electronics.

Dr Dongchang Chen representing the Georgia Institute of Technology

The seminar was organised by Beta on behalf of the award sponsor CBMM and provided a platform for technical discussion on the role of niobium in future battery technology and included speakers from Toshiba, A2Mac1 and WildCat Technologies Inc. It also facilitated dialogue around the development of new research and demonstration projects to further advance this exciting energy storage technology. Selected presentations from the seminar have been uploaded onto the Charles Hatchett website.

Celebrating its 40th year, the Charles Hatchett Award recognises excellent research in the science and technology of niobium and its alloys and Beta has been managing the Award since its inception in 1979.